Love, Rosie Review

Love, Rosie (Where Rainbows End)

By Cecelia Ahern

❤ ❤ ❤

308462919

Love, Rosie was originally published as Where Rainbows End, hence the above^. The title of the book changed when it was adapted into a movie featuring Lily Collins and Sam Claflin. It took me a lot longer to read this book than other books, granted the size may have intimidated me a little. One of the awesome things about this book is that it is written as letter, email, IMs and text messages, which was definitely something that I haven’t come across yet. The book was long, the storyline intricate, and the characters took a little longer to get to know as we never truly know how they feel just how they tell people how they feel, which leaves the dialect up for interpretation.

Yes, Rosie made a few poor life choices, but when she was strong when it was needed most and always put her daughter’s needs before her own, even if it temporarily prevented her own happiness.

Alex…. I have no idea what he was doing half the time, Do I love her? Don’t I lover her? Please make up your mind I’m getting whiplash here.

I rated this book three hearts because whilst I did enjoy it, it seemed to drag on a little. The timeline makes sense and everything happens for a reason and it answers most questions that I would have had, but I wasn’t completely hooked so it seemed to take forever to finish.

I would recommend this to anyone looking for an adult contemporary, who is ready to commit to this book, because you will need to. If you don’t feel that you have the time or could make the commitment a movie has been made, so feel free to watch it instead. If you have read the book and are yet to watch the movie, be prepared because the timeline is seriously different to the book’s and certain “significant” events don’t happen. I’m not saying don’t watch it, I’m saying be prepared.

Below I have some more of my thoughts on Love, Rosie.

**Contains spoilers**

Okie Dokie. So if I got the chance to talk to the characters it would probably go something like this.

Rosie, Rosie, Rosie. I applaud you for how well you seemingly handled sudden motherhood, kinda – it was hard, but you got through it in one piece. But sweet Rosie why would you go back to Greg after you found out about him cheating the first time? And why were you then surprised when you found out he was cheating again???

Alex. Where is your head at man? Do you love Rosie or not? Because you can’t keep saying you love her and then marry another woman and have babies with them. Why in high heavens would you think that maybe she doesn’t love you, she has kissed you all throughout the years, confessed some of her feelings, is completely obvious and isn’t marrying every guy she lays eyes on, like someone.

Alex and Rosie. Take a step back and look at everything that has happened between the two of you. Now feelings have been confessed before and you’re still friends, so why is it that your excuse for not being together seems to be “it might break up our friendship”, I mean it might break up Alex’s marriage, but your friendship probs not. I mean you both love each other but keep making up excuses, and Alex you really aren’t helping yourself, no wonder she’s not throwing herself at you, you keep getting married before either of you have a chance to try things out, and at the pace things were going it was lucky that you guys were only 50!!! before you had a chance at being together, but 50 is better than never I guess.

Okay, rant over, phew! Now that I’m done I’d love to know what you thought of the book, so please leave a comment below 🙂 and I’ll see you next week

Minnie ♥

Leave a Reply

